Why I want to be more like Henry Ford

When Henry Ford was accused by a Chicago newspaper of being an ignorant pacifist he took a libel case against them, putting himself on the witness stand to prove that he was in fact not ignorant. The prosecutors tried to bamboozle him with a load of general knowledge questions. Instead of doing what a lot of people do, including myself, and desperately search for some answer…any answer…to avoid looking stupid he made the following statement.

If I should really WANT to answer the foolish question you have just asked, or any of the other questions you have been asking me, let me remind you that I have a row of electric push-buttons on my desk, and by pushing the right button, I can summon to my aid men who can answer ANY question I desire to ask concerning the business to which I am devoting most of my efforts. Now, will you kindly tell me, WHY I should clutter up my mind with general knowledge, for the purpose of being able to answer questions, when I have men around me who can supply any knowledge I require?”

Inspired by such a cracking come back I used often declare to my team mate in the ad agency – we don’t need to know how to do this, we just need to know how to find someone who knows.

Well now Im going to channel Henry in my quest to step back from the abyss…aka my addiction to information. I love learning stuff, researching, questioning, practising, experimenting….I love it all! Especially if it brings me closer to my goal of being as primal as crap! But my penchant for discovery took a turn for the worse when I started to get decision paralysis. Unlike Henry I had started to clutter up my mind with, often totally useless, information. So in recent months I’ve started to slowly Marie Kondo my brain. I adore decluttering. But up to now I’ve focused only on decluttering tangible items in my life. Actually Im always sad when I hear people are decluttering because I get really jealous. Being a life long fan of decluttering means I don’t really have much stuff to declutter. Last year my friend asked me to help her declutter her wardrobe which she hadn’t done in 10 YEAR! Its remains my second best memory of 2015. My daughter was also born in 2015 so thats number one but the decluttering session was a close second. Anyway I digress….

In my quest to become more primal and to hone in on Mark Sissons modus operandi I need to declutter my brain so that I don’t stand paralysed in a supermarket wondering if its better to buy almond milk because its more primal or cows milk because its more sustainable…or is it…whats the story with methane gas again…but it is important to support the dairy farmers of my region…although the almond farmer on the front of the carton looks like a sound guy so maybe I should support him…mmmm…whats kefir again…

You get the picture

So I’m taking a leaf from Henrys book and if I specifically need to know something in particular I’ll push a button (on my keyboard…hopefully in a few years I’ll have a row of men at my beck and call 😄) Until then, watch out useless info in my head, you’re about to be Marie Kondo-ed

Leave a Reply

